Home About Us Leadership President: William R. Hiatt, MD

President: William R. Hiatt, MD


William R. Hiatt, MD, has successfully led CPC as President since 1996. He is a past Chair of the United States Food and Drug Administration (FDA) Cardiovascular and Renal Advisory Committee (2003-08) and currently serves on the Endocrinologic and Metabolic Drugs Advisory Committee.

In addition, Dr. Hiatt is the Novartis Foundation endowed professor for cardiovascular research in the Department of Medicine, Division of Cardiology, University of Colorado School of Medicine.

Active in many national and international societies, Dr. Hiatt is a past-president of the Society for Vascular Medicine and is a Fellow in the American Heart Association and the American College of Physicians. He is the immediate past Chair of the American Heart Association Peripheral Vascular Disease Council. He is also the co-editor of the TASC international guidelines for peripheral artery disease.

Dr. Hiatt's extensive involvement in leading international Steering Committees and global clinical trial initiatives provides an unparalleled perspective on clinical trial development.

Dr. Hiatt's academic career has focused on the clinical, educational, and research issues in peripheral artery disease and cardiovascular medicine. The breadth of work includes studies of the diagnosis and epidemiology of PAD, the pathophysiology of claudication, the mechanisms of response to supervise exercise for claudication, and numerous clinical trials to develop new therapies for claudication and critical limb ischemia and secondary prevention in PAD. His research at CPC Clinical Research has pioneered new methods to control endpoint variability in clinical trials.

Dr. Hiatt has authored over 180 peer-reviewed publications. He also serves on the editorial board as an associate editor for the Journal of Vascular Medicine, the Cochrane Review Group and is guest editor for Circulation and the Journal of the American College of Cardiology. In 2008 he received the Robert W. Schrier Award of Excellence from the Department of Medicine, University of Colorado School of Medicine and he received the Julius H. Jacobson II, MD Physician Excellence Award from the Vascular Disease Foundation. He has received two outstanding medical student teacher awards and has been elected thrice as Best Doctors in America (most recent 2012). In 2012 he received the Jess R. Young Outstanding Vascular Medicine Educator Award for exemplary contributions to the field of Vascular Medicine from the Society of Vascular Medicine.

Peer Reviewed Journal Articles


Book Chapters, Reviews, Editorials